Any Underground Linkbait Case Studies Or Results?

Degree
I feel like an idiot... Probably the biggest opportunity for ridiculous linkbait post election ever, and I was so focused on my priority goal it didn't occur to me to put a creative spin on it for my niche. (totally unrelated, but who cares)

That said, has anyone hired any content writers for a linkbait piece that showed any signs of organic success without hardcore outreach? (I'm not experienced with this style of writing, but would imagine seasoned writers could whip something up that someone in the trenches may overlook??)

No experience with viral/clickbait style sites, but can see the value in leveraging a similar strategy for pretty much any site now...

Thoughts?

Chanilla, this post from the BuSo Newsstand changed the way I view this concept forever:
This is a real estate company that is pulling in obscene amounts of traffic by taking advantage of every event possible, from elections to video game releases, by making it tangentially related to real estate and doing mass outreach.

Chanilla, this post from the BuSo Newsstand changed the way I view this concept forever:
This is a real estate company that is pulling in obscene amounts of traffic by taking advantage of every event possible, from elections to video game releases, by making it tangentially related to real estate and doing mass outreach.

Appears it was removed. Web archive: http://web.archive.org/web/20150207071716/http://www.movoto.com/blog/movoto-com/buzzfeed-for-real-estate

This was an incredible read. I went through it twice. My takeaway is that their email outreach was the Jesus nut of this entire strategy. And, besides sending out emails to some blogs in similar niches with useful links / guests requests, I've never attempted this, but I am going to start.

From the article: