Who actually clicks on ads?

Degree
Last night I had a discussion with a friend about the type of person who actually clicks on ads. We were thinking about major review sites such as Pitchfork, AV Club, or Engadget. We assume that this audience group may have the following characteristics:

1. Reasonably tech-savvy

2. Younger

3. VERY rarely click on Ads (ad-blocker)

So how do these sites afford hundreds of staff and still (presumably) turn a profit?

And as a starter looking to compete in those verticals, is it all about the angle? Basically, I want to know how sites make money off of someone like me or you, if the content targets people like us.

I'm new to all of this, and I appreciate the insight!

At the time of reading and writing this I unfortunatley didn't have the time to go through the statistics but I figured I'd through them at you so you can compare and try to find see what they have in common and what seperates each from the other.

pitchfork.com/
https://www.quantcast.com/pitchfork.com#/trafficCard
http://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/pitchfork.com

www.avclub.com
https://www.quantcast.com/avclub.com#shoppingInterestsCard
http://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/www.avclub.com

www.engadget.com/
http://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/www.engadget.com

unfortunatley there isn't any quantcast data for engadget but I'm sure you'll survive without it LOL

Thanks for those links - let me try to interpret this right:

1. A lot of those sites don't necessarily make revenue off of the products/services they write about, but instead they target the characteristics of a demographic. For example, Pitchfork ads targets people who buy luxury cars, household goods, and love hockey.

2. More people see and click on ads than I realize. After googling "who actually click on ads" I see a lot of anecdotal evidence describing people who are less computer-savvy and can't differentiate between an ad an a "legitimate" search result.