PHP7.4 Speed Gains

Joined
Sep 3, 2015
Messages
454
Likes
207
Points
1
Just wanted to say I updated one of my sites that has been traditionally VERY slow in Google Pagespeed and this happened.

PHP7.3
14 / 19
mobile / desktop

PHP7.4
38 / 76
mobile / desktop

Pingdom showed 20% page load times also.
 

bernard

BuSo Pro
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
1,080
Likes
836
Points
3
Very interesting.

My hosting provider only just upgraded to PHP 7.3

I've been meaning to move provider in any case. Might be a good reason to do so.
 

CCarter

King of America
Staff member
BuSo Pro
Boot Camp
Digital Strategist
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
2,996
Likes
6,533
Points
7
Quick Experiment I did this morning:

PageSpeed Insight Test (https://developers.google.com/speed/pagespeed/insights/):

PHP 7.3.11:

URLMobileDesktop
https://www.serpwoo.com/3259
https://www.serpwoo.com/blog/8097
(New SW HomePage)7598

PHP 7.4.0:

URLMobileDesktop
https://www.serpwoo.com/3261
https://www.serpwoo.com/blog/92100
(New SW HomePage)7597

--

Definitely worth looking into!
 

eliquid

Digital Strategist
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
831
Likes
1,789
Points
3
One consideration is this.

I spun up a new server in the last 7 days at digital ocean and had php7.3 and 7.4 and it was missing libs that I needed for different extensions and other code.

Had to revert back to 7.2 to get everything to work.

Some of these just aren't up to snuff yet even using different repos.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
461
Likes
312
Points
2
Some of these just aren't up to snuff yet even using different repos.
It's only like 4 or 5 days old now. I'm interested (more interested in PHP 8.0 which is coming next), but like anything, we should all wait a while. Even though developer versions were available, it'll take time for server companies, Wordpress, plugins, and anything else to be completely ready.

I'm going to wait on the benchmarks to come out, anyways, before I blindly jump aboard. Anyone with a content site needs to be caching their sites, so this won't have much of an impact in that regard anyways.
 

CCarter

King of America
Staff member
BuSo Pro
Boot Camp
Digital Strategist
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
2,996
Likes
6,533
Points
7
Wow, feels good man!


Also @Samwise89 and @eliquid - most of the php libraries do not need updated versions, there is a way to use older libraries with the latest PHP.

For example "apt-get install php-redis" will just install the latest php-redis in the current running php folder. screenshot:



--



--

What you are seeing is that I seem to have a lot of different PHPs installed on this server! BUT the current one being used is the 7.4. PHP Redis was not able to run until I installed it within that PHP. So you don't need to wait for developers to update their code, just have to reinstalled the libraries - which can be a pain if you don't have a list of stuff you installed though.