Learning my way around UpWork

Nat

Degree
I'm completely new to UpWork.

I posted a job with a low entry level and 3-6 months time span because that seemed 'safe,' and then messaged people I was interested in based on some filters and search queries. If I've found someone, messaged a few examples to them, and now I want to give them a test run of a few tasks/articles/graphics, do I hit "hire freelancer?" Or should I create a separate job that is a one-time thing for the exact "two articles in niche" that I want, and send it to him?

Essentially, I want to send this person work semi-regular work and pay by word. But first, give them an even smaller job to make sure they don't suck. I also don't want to look like I have no clue what I'm doing, which is why I haven't played around with the hire/accept buttons yet.

If I've found someone, messaged a few examples to them, and now I want to give them a test run of a few tasks/articles/graphics, do I hit "hire freelancer?" Or should I create a separate job that is a one-time thing for the exact "two articles in niche" that I want, and send it to him?
You can click "hire freelancer" BUT when clicking it, make sure to select keep the job open so it doesn't close it, and you can keep getting people to apply for it. You can hire multiple people for a project.

Or you can just give them a task, but don't officially hire them, just tell them it's a test run. Don't be a cunt but, obviously pay for the test run when they're done.

Moral of the story, don't feel pressured to "Hire the freelancer" because I never do, I only do when I know I want them to do a job.

Side note: If it's a time sensitive task, definetly hire them so their accountable for the job, and you can leave feedback (Which they know so they won't fuck you around).

Reactions: Nat
Or you can just give them a task, but don't officially hire them, just tell them it's a test run. Don't be a cunt but, obviously pay for the test run when they're done.