[Hypothetical] You have 50k liquid and you're investing it online. What do you do?

Kevin

Beast
Degree
Imagine you have 50k liquid cash that's burning a hole in your low-interest savings account or money market. You're not putting it into the market, real estate, etc...you're going to put it into some kind of online project.

You're not a newbie to IM, but you're not a pro either.

What would you be doing in the following cases (or feel free to add one that isn't listed):

- Authority sites
- Website flipping
- Ecommerce
- Monthly recurring revenue projects / SaaS / subscription services
- Improving existing sites (authority, ecommerce, flips, etc)

I'm dumping that into an existing site. I'd get lots of in depth content and spend the other 45k on marketing those awesome pieces of content.

In my opinion (not a complete newbie, but not a pro, either) I would buy an under-optimized / poorly marketed site making $1,000 a month in a wide open niche, and then spend a bunch of time and money optimizing it, filling it out with more content, and marketing the piss out of it. Get it to $5,000 or $10,000 a month, and flip it.

Then keep repeating the process until I was at 7 figures a year, and could keep a couple projects in my portfolio to earn $20-$30k a month.

All depends on where you are on your journey. Existing site ready to scale... investment goes there. A new site the next step for your gameplan? I'd then put the money where I see the biggest opportunity. IMO the type of site really isn't relevant, the angle is. If you have a KILLER angle and see the missing piece that you can fill, fill it with the type of property that makes sense (or combined approach, why can't my authority site also have an ecommerce store, especially when I have liquid cash to invest to grow fast)

I think you will long go unhappy and unsuccessful trying to build a SaaS because they are 'hot'. The type of site is akin to the type of tool to get the job done.