E-commerce & Branding

Degree
Hey all,

I've got a lot of experience in various paid traffic sources (mostly FB/Adwords/Native networks) but have been sending all my traffic and hard work elsewhere for a CPA agreement.

I'm looking to take my skills and start pouring everything into a project or funnel I own. I would like to create a brand or asset worth selling some day or as a stable brand in the market that I know will stick around instead of disappearing overnight.

I've already read through the Digital Strategy Crash Course. Great ofcourse.

Though 2 main questions keep coming up for me regarding a lot of the business models out there.

1. E-commerce - how do you really brand yourself? What do I sell? Well..uhh..I just sell other brands. I don't really do anything special, I just feature other people's stuff on my site.
^ This essentially is a lot of ecommerce's value props. None. They are just powered by good marketers that know how to generate paid & organic traffic or just make it work out of pure sweat and blood. Any strategies of how to get around this "lack" of branding in E-commerce?

2. Amazon is killing brick & mortar retail. But they're also killing e-commerce too. Why would somebody buy a widget from your site when Amazon has more trust, their CC info already, better shipping, 1-click ordering, reviews, and Prime. Is e-commerce a marginal/losing model in the coming years?

Anyways, been toiling on these 2 aspects the past few days. I think if you can answer #1 well, #2 becomes irrelevant. Either way I haven't been able to arrive at a conclusion I feel good about.

Thoughts? Comments? How do you brand your ecommerce store? Does it even matter?

Last edited:
If you approach life in a defeatist manner it cannot be a wonder you aren't winning.

"When looking at a problem a young man sees all the potential opportunities, an old man sees all the potential problems" - Sea Carter of The Mine's Watch

HOC4duL.gif