Directory Sites with just listings

Degree
Hi BuSo

This is my first time posting on the site.

I'm currently working on creating a huge number of directory sites with auto generated pages. I've built a few in the past and have seen some reach decent traffic and earnings.

The primary reason I'm attracted to building these is the ease with which a relevant site can be created once a good resource data is found. I also cannot afford to spend much on link building or getting content written to focus on making affiliate sites at the moment.

Before I get started, I want to seek your pointers for increasing my odds of success with these massive directory sites with thin pages for the most part.

Looking forward to contribute actively on the site. Thanks!

@jeffbozos, welcome. I used to create these. I call them "database sites", because like you said it's all about finding public domain data sources and using them creatively.

I did this in the addiction and rehab niches and monetized with Adsense and Pay-Per-Call with great success. But these niches are prohibitively competitive now. I got out of the database site game rather than continue it in other niches, but I imagine it's wide open for some stuff, especially service-based industries.

As far as keeping pages from being thin, I would recommend figuring out how granular you can go before your pages are "thin". Like if you dip to city-level pages and most only have 2-3 listings on them, don't bother (or find a way to beef them up).

I used to add paragraphs of content with adjectives, verbs, and numbers being tokenized and ad-libbed from custom fields. This helped. I'd include a Google Map with latitude and longitude pins for each location on the page. You can also include a state map and text table of state names to beef it up and also aid in interlinking. And of course, go the extra mile like hiring someone to find images of store fronts and logos to include.