Day 2 - Ebooks as a Vertical?

Degree
This is my first post besides my intro, and I know that Day 2 is super important. I'm looking to get some feedback on a vertical I'd like to work.

I love kindle ebooks, more specifically Fantasy and Sci-Fi. I used to be a kindle author, and the area is definitely still a passion for me. I know that the ebook market being flooded with shit books is a major pain point for a lot of authors/readers. I thought it'd be nice to build out an affiliate site with links to GOOD ebooks, but it seems way overdone and besides, not sure how I could compete with GoodReads, which essentially dominates the market on ebook reviews. So I'm trying to think of a way to really work around this vertical since it has a lot of power through people buying large number of books, as well as word-of-mouth. It's also something that I'm pretty passionate about. I could legit tell you the name of every decent fantasy author in the last decade. Any thoughts regarding this?

Another vertical I thought would be neat, but I'm not nearly as passionate about, is the fitness niche. Calisthenics (bodyweight workouts) is something I've been involved in.

Just looking for someone to bounce thoughts back at me. Thanks!

I'd suggest branding big, but starting niched way down. Be the go-to source for a specific type writing that you're most familiar. Lets say self help is one of the most over-dominated in the trash to quality ratio.

Help people find this specific type of book with reviews or recommendations, whatever you can do to drive them value. Capture an audience, build a brand then slowly expand out.

Take Yelp for example, they started niched down in San Fran, then expanded. Same idea, but ebooks. This is something you'll find echoed again and again.

I wrote Day 2, so I may end up regurgitating what I said there, but it's exactly what needs to be said.

I'd suggest branding big, but starting niched way down.