Backlink building ranking timeline?

tyealia

BuSo Pro
Degree
Hi Everyone,

I was trying to find some more literature on this but except for a moz blog post I could only find anecdotes. What I am talking about is keyword volatility after you build a backlink and how long it takes to stabalize. Lets forget about onsite seo and imagine we have everything taken care of well.

I have been tackling this one keyword now for 2 months and have had trouble getting it past the top 10-7. My highest rank was #7 for a day then it bounced back to 20. Most of the other keywords I target are pretty stable other than this one. All onsite best practices relevance, interlinking, onsite, duplicating top results structures, but its still bouncing around like crazy.
I got to thinking I have been building links consistently every week for two months, perhaps my links are causing it to bounce like this dropping down as the algorithm tries to confuse me and if i hold steady I should reach top positioning? Been using all DA30 links from a reputable vendor.

Orange is plural version of the keyword- blue, is singular
2019-02-27-14-14-40.jpg

The moz study I alluded to said that for some lower quality links you first drop in rank for the first few weeks before your rank jumps up. Has anyone seen any more updated research on this. The following picture puts into light this effect, looks like for domains under 25 da your going to see a drop the first 2 months. With Da over that youll only see slight changes in first 2 months than the boost will come after that.

Keep in mind this photo from their article is 3 years old and there have been a ton of google updates since then, was wondering if anyone had anything more updated or done some experimenting

Cheers!

56ec73d02b3755.14175357.jpg

reference :
https://moz.com/blog/how-long-does-link-building-take-influence-rankings

Speed of link impact appears to correlate with some kind of crawl priority association.