Recovery efforts after getting hit by last 2 updates

makoloko

Coder
Degree
Hi - this is my first post here.

I've been working on my site for 3 years and have 400 posts. I use Wordpress. A few months ago my traffic hit 170k/mo. Then it got hit by the two latest Google updates. 50% drop. Ouch.

A month ago I started working on fixing SEO problems. I've been going through the "kitchen sink method" and checking everything.

Fixes
First, here's specifically what I've done so far:
1. 75% of indexed pages were tag pages. 1200 tags total. I deleted them all and then put them in the temporary removal tool in GSC (to prevent 404s in SERPs while they drop out of the index)

2. I noindexed category pages. These are 0 effort. I use them as nav menu items. I don't want them competing with the actual content.

3. My homepage was terrible. I was linking to manually updated directory pages. Awful. I changed the homepage to simply display the latest posts (paginated) and deleted the directory pages.

So lots of thin content removed from the index. It's been a month since I did those changes, and I just got hit by the spam update, which motivated me to keep going.

4. I got Screaming Frog. I've fixed the following:
  • 45 pages had images with no alt tag
  • 100 links with redirects. I fixed all of the links. One post had several of these. This was one of my first posts and it was very low quality, so I completely rewrote it (kinda fun after fixing links all day)
  • A few missing images
  • Changed posts to show "Last updated on..." instead of published date. Right now I'm naturally updating lots of posts, so they should all get a boost from this.
  • Removed thin categories from the nav menu
  • Rewrote 15 low quality posts so far. I plan on doing a quality check on all content systematically going forward.
So that's what I've done so far. It seems like index bloat was the biggest problem, but I'm going to keep gping. There's more problems to fix, like titles / descriptions.