Confused on How to Approach the Crash Course

Degree

TL;DR: I've made a site that hasn't been growing for past 3 years without any prior planning and after reading the crash course figured out most of the things I did wrong. Looking for advice on how to properly apply my newly learned teachings from the crash course to my current site: tear it down and start fresh or find existing problems and make the fixes where possible?

I've read through the crash course and skimmed some of the information. The things are amazingly useful and the overall course is pretty actionable. However, I'm having some issues on how to approach it with my current website.

The crash course, from what I can tell, is aimed at (almost) total beginners who just have this dream of running a successful business but don't know how to achieve it. It provides them with this blueprint of how to make that dream come true; guiding you from point A to point B in the internet marketing world.

I, however, already have a website in place but if you were to ask me what my plan or strategy is with the website - I have nothing.

I just wake up some day and think "hmm I guess I'll write a post on my blog today" write one, optimize it for SEO, make it pretty with pictures, etc. and post it. Some rank, some don't, some get traffic and make a few dollars, others don't - that's been my strategy up till now.

Some Personal Background

Problem is, I kinda nosedived into internet marketing without much prior planning. I was initially a content writer, writing for clients but had the idea of starting my own blog. I started the blog in a niche which I had hands-on experience and have a bit of knowledge on the subject (although I'd still consider it to be intermediate level knowledge). So, since all I thought of was to just start a blog without overthinking it, I went all in without any planning.