WP - What approach do you take to getting email subscribers?

Nat

Degree
What mailer do you guys use/prefer? (especially for starting out)

Do you prefer to embed a sign-up form under each post? Or a pop-up? Or leave a box in the sidebar?

I realize that there are definitely ways to incentivize email sign-ups like free eBooks, giveaways, etc. However, for just general visitors to your website, what do you do?

All 3. Preferably with a lead magnet like you said (ebooks, giveaways, etc)

All 3. Preferably with a lead magnet like you said (ebooks, giveaways, etc)
All three on each page? Pop-up, sidebar, and at the end of the post? Seems a little much to me, but I'm no expert. I think that a pop-up and a box at the end of a post (or during the middle) could be effective with a lead magnet.
What provider would you recommend?

In my experience, what matters is rarely what I think, but what I try and the data ultimately says works. That being said you also need to think about your audience when implementing your methods. What quality and volume of traffic do you see on your site?

In my experience, what matters is rarely what I think, but what I try and the data ultimately says works. That being said you also need to think about your audience when implementing your methods. What quality and volume of traffic do you see on your site?

Just getting started, so, very little organic traffic at the moment. Still haven't decided on an emailing service either.

Put your energy into getting something setup to collect emails, and focus on traffic.

Put your energy into getting something setup to collect emails, and focus on traffic.
So, before picking an email marketing service, how would you suggest collecting emails (and names)? I'm not sure what format the mailing services need the data in.