VPS for Scrapebox 2

Potatoe

BuSo Pro
Degree
It's been ages since I powered up scrapebox and I'm curious to check out version 2. I don't need it for posting or anything, just for scraping... and I'm on a mac now, so I need to grab a windows VPS. Curious how small of a box I can get away with for scraping, anyone have experience with this? Scrapebox's site recommends PowerUpHosting who have dedicated scrapebox servers starting at about $15 for 1gb ram, unmetered bandwidth, 1 cpu, and another $10/mo for 10 semi-dedicated proxies.

I'd almost prefer something with metered bandwidth since I've had some dreadfully slow experiences with unmetered in the past, and I imagine I don't need much bandwidth for scrapebox anyways?

Just looking for a second opinion before I grab that since I'm kind of weary of "Recommended hosts" and not really sure what I even need for this.

Cheers thanks guys.

You're going to want unmetered bandwidth. You'll blow through 100's of GB's and on to TB's pretty quickly, especially if you tack on posting. I wouldn't worry too much about CPU and RAM, especially if you're only using 10 proxies. This means you're going to have to put a pretty heavy time delay on them to keep them from getting banned (and they aren't private so there's still a chance someone else will burn them out.) With 10 proxies, speed isn't going to be your issue. I wouldn't make bandwidth an issue. Their advice seems pretty sound from my experiences with scraping and hunting for linking opportunities (not auto-posting and filtering lists).

@Ryuzaki Cool thanks for the info, I'm basically looking to do a bit of light scraping to find link opportunities in my niche like you mentioned.

On that note: Is scraping for proxies still a 'thing'? That's how I used to find them, but it was kind of a nightmare so I ended up just buying 10 or 20 at a time from some guy on another forum but he disappeared.