This article has me shaking my head...

emp

BuSo Pro
Degree
So, this was quoted on reddit
http://www.cameronalcorn.com/what-c...me-about-small-business-web-design-inquiries/

Having done / doing some freelance web development work every now and then, I am just shaking my head.

To break it down, the general tone of the article is kinda meh...
He gets a huge range of quotes (which is more likely to there being very huge / expensive agencies in the mix) and does not like the way some handle it... big deal.

But this chart, THIS chart.... 0_o

pie-chart.jpg

So he send a request to 25 agencies, this wording:
Hello,

Just to give you a brief introduction, my name is Carl. I’m a photographer from the San Francisco Bay area.

Today, I’m requesting your services in the development of a website. Here are the specifications:

1. I need you to register the domain: carlsmithphotography.net
  2. The site will consist of 4 pages
  3. The website needs to be responsive (e.g. ready for mobile devices)
  4. I need a custom email address, along with the site
  5. Set up Google Analytics on the site (Just put the code on the site. I can handle the dashboard later)
Attached, you’ll find the designs.

Before we begin, I would like an estimate for how much this will cost, overall. In addition, if you can breakdown the cost of each item that is on my list of specifications for me, that would be amazing.

Thanks,
Carl

And of 25 agencies, 10 did not even send an email back?
Talk about leaving money on the table.

So again, this quote rings true:
“The world is run by those who show up.”
-unkown

::emp::

People man.

I did web design for many years, freelance and prior to that as an agency cog. Being that I live in the land of the pound sterling, a lot of those more tech-savvy clients from the States that I liked to work with would have had an e-mail back within 10 hours guaranteed.

In fact most often for small sites like that I used to charge $500.00 max.