They weren't lying.

Potatoe

BuSo Pro
Degree
All those people who say to avoid using extra plugins with wordpress, or to avoid using bloated themeforest-style themes, etc..etc...

They weren't lying!

One of my sites was recently hacked. It's my first time dealing with this.

I had a plugin that added avatars for authors (I always thought this was a default feature, but I guess some themes don't have it? Which is odd, because the themeforest theme I was using literally had an option for everything else under the sun.)

Anywoo - they did some sort of SQL injection using the WP User Avatar plugin, and were able to inject some sort of file that dynamically generated Google Webmaster Tools verification files, so they added themselves as a verified owner of the site, created 8000 spam pages, and submitted the new sitemap to Google lol. In order to unverify them, I had to remove the verification file from my server - but I couldn't, because it wasn't actually there? It was a whole to-do, it's all sorted out now (I hope lmao)... I think it was a page.ini file or something? And apparently they did something to my htaccess, according to my host.

I just wanted to post this because I KNEW BETTER than to use extra plugins and to not keep my stuff 100% up to date all the time, and to not use bloated themes even if they look nicer and have more features, but this wasn't a super active site so I didn't keep close enough tabs on it.

So if this massive waste of a day can happen to someone who knows better, I just wanted to give a heads up to any folks out there who don't know better - be careful!