Smart Watches

Degree
What's your opinions on smart watches?

I stopped wearing a watch ages ago due to carrying a cell phone around. I felt it was redundant since I wasn't wearing nice business watches for appearance. I've been knowing this Smart Watch thing was coming for a couple years due to my Wired magazine subscription (great read by the way, once a month!). I've known it's coming and have thought a lot about it.

I feel like it's some purposefully intermediary step between phones and a "next level" tech that we haven't been introduced to. Almost like a money grab. The philosophy is to cut down on the # of times and the amount of time it takes for having to pull your phone out of your pocket constantly. To me, that's not worth several hundred dollars.

But if they worked like pedometers, heart rate monitors... I could see a good application for sports and exercise.

I don't know what to think. I know it's not for me, but I'm just trying to gauge if it's going to catch on at all with the masses.

I feel like this is a step backwards. A step forward will self-charging devices that are built into our clothing, that charge through kinetic energy and static. With flexible organic LED screens. That are washable. lol. I don't know. Something just feels "off" about the smart watches.

My main issue with them right now is they require you to have a smart phone of the same company bluetoothed together. You become dependent on both and then if one breaks you have to fix it and stay with that company. It makes a ton of sense business wise. This really will come down to marketing, because these products literally solve zero issues.

@Member 24 I'm not sure if that's the case necessarily. The apple one won't work with other devices, but I think Sony (Or someone else?) is making one (Or has already made one?) that will work on other android devices, and I'm sure there are some players that aren't even in the handset game that will be making universal smart watches.