Retiring from Military — looking for something new

Degree
Hello — I’ve been lurking around for the last couple days. This community has a lot of knowledge and I’m glad I found it. I have a tech background in the military, I’m a retiring warrant officer who works in the digital forensics/cyber field. I’ve found the idea of creating some type of website associated with Amazon referrals appealing. I am familiar with programming, devops, etc — I’ve just never published a website. For Amazon referrals is the website suppose to be built first before signing up as an affiliate? If so, is there some resources on how that initial website should look? Should it already be a finished product? If anyone has any advice for me about getting start — I’m all ears! Thanks!

Degree
I don't know anything about Amazon, but just want to welcome you to BuSo. Sounds like you have an interesting background as well. I could see myself leveraging that into a site about personal security/surveillance/internet security for parents. Hope you stick around, good luck!

Ryuzaki

女性以上のお金
Staff member
BuSo Pro
Digital Strategist
Degree
For Amazon referrals is the website suppose to be built first before signing up as an affiliate? If so, is there some resources on how that initial website should look? Should it already be a finished product?
Welcome to the club. Don't be quiet! The more voices speaking, the merrier.

Yeah, you need your site before you apply as an Amazon Affiliate, because you have to get approval based on your website first. After that you can add as many sites to your account as you want, but the first one requires approval.

The main reasons people get rejected that I see are two-fold. 1) Your content can't just be a rehashing of their own product listings. You have to be adding value. 2) People don't have enough content on their sites when they apply.