Question About Personas

Degree
Hey everyone,

I'm loving this amazing forum so far, and this is my first time posting. I have a question for anyone who knows about the legality of creating personas for your site.

For example, is it legal to use stock photos to create fictitional personas? This pertains to using these stock photos on one's own site as well as sites such as facebook, twitter, etc.

Could these models who posed for the stock photos try to sue me for using them in this way? Like false impersonation or something?

I basically found a natural looking model and bought a dozen or so of her photos from shutterstock.com which I plan to use to create a persona to represent my skin-care related site. Give her a little back story on an about page, use some of the photos to set up facebook, twitter, and other social accounts, each of which will be used to post articles she "authors" on her site and whatnot.

Anything I should keep in mind or be worried about?

Thanks for any advice!

There's something about models giving a release for being used in that way. Some give the release and some don't. Here's Getty Images release. You can probably find one for Shutterstock and see exactly what they models are signing. But it needs to be explicit or there's wiggle room. Getty's form will give you an idea.

Its the same as a writer using a pen name. It doesn't make sense to me that you buy the image and can't use it how you want. I would just go ahead and do it.

Its the same as a writer using a pen name. It doesn't make sense to me that you buy the image and can't use it how you want. I would just go ahead and do it.

That's pretty much exactly how I felt about it.

Thanks for the input Samwise89, I'll check into that!