Pinterest Best Practices for 2020?

Potatoe

BuSo Pro
Degree
Heyo, big Pinterest newbie here.

So, we've been re-pinning a bunch of niche-related stuff on a new account for the past 3-4 months, we have a dozen or so boards with a few thousand pins that we've re-pinned from other people, and now we want to start seeding our own content into Pinterest and I'm curious if anyone has any advice about the best way to go about this.

I have a designer who I was going to hire to create Pinterest-optimized images for each of our 50 posts, then upload those images to the Social Warfare plugin, add a little description - then what? Is that a good way to go about this?

I noticed Pinterest has a "pin builder" of sorts, but it seems to just grab one of the images from the article, so I think I'm still better off using Social Warfare to add a big, catchy image (and use the 'hidden' setting so it doesn't slow down my load time etc - or maybe it does, I dunno, either way I'd rather not have this giant image in my post..)

It seems like creating our own custom images for each post will be better than just grabbing random pics from each post using pinterest.com's submission tool (a lot of the in-image articles are pictures of an individual product etc, not super interesting on their own and not the ideal size.)

So...
1) Create Pinterest account, use it for a few months, create and populate a bunch of relevant boards, get some followers [check]
2) Create Pinterest-optimized images (Big, attn catching) and either upload them to Social Warfare - OR add them directly when submitting the pin via Pinterest.com - which one's better? Same diff?
3) If using the plugin, do I just add the image behind the scenes and then visit the article and click the Pin button and voila? Or is there any advantage to doing this through Pinterest.com's own interface? OR should I use Tailwind to pin it to multiple boards and tribes at once?