Old dog learning new tricks

Degree
Howzit everyone I just found this forum and boy am I glad.

Alot of what I am reading here goes right over my head, but I am starting to pick up some gems along the way.

I am a carpenter of 49 and a single dad that started looking for a way to start an online business about a year ago and got caught up in a lot of fake guru bullshit and promises of the "laptop-lifestyle" but all I have done so far is waste money and precious time.
Well maybe it wasn't entirely a waste as I now know of several ways how not to do digital marketing.

I started out doing a course in starting a digital agency but soon realized that this kind of business will soon be something that I would loathe doing, and then I started creating funnels for clickbank and digistore24 products and running ads to them but with no success so far.

Enough with the failures...I am here to find out how I can turn what I know into something that people will love to consume.
So here is what I can do:
  • I can build anything from furniture through to small boats
  • I am a tool junkie and can spend hours in the hardware store
  • I can teach most muppets to become half-decent craft men (although this can be a challenge in South Africa, we have 14 official languages and I only speak 2.5 of them)
  • I can fix just about anything
While researching a bit I found that D.I.Y. seems to be a huge niche or vertical not sure which, and I would like to monitize through tool sales ect.