New here; not so new elsewhere

Hey everyone.

I've been dabbling in several digital enterprises for a couple of years, successfully ran several marketing campaigns before subscribing to the r/JustStart subreddit and creating my first niche site in late 2019.

I've been running the site ever since, getting it up to almost $2k per month with 30% MoM growth, until the December core update hit and decimated my single product reviews, which amounted to 80% of my affiliate income. I'm now trying to re-assess my strategy and looking for ways to expand with the limited budget that I have.

I've heard of this forum for a while, so hope to learn and contribute here while I recover.

Welcome to the forum!

What have you thought of so far?
Thanks!

It seems that the update has raised the value of links vs. topic relevancy and on-page SEO. So, provided that my analysis of the update is correct, I will have the most ROI if I start actively building links.

I've optimized my pages for backlinks, dialed down down publishing, hired an outreach VA and started doing more outreach myself.

I'm also considering stopping my work on single product reviews. All my single product reviews have been ejected into page 3.

It seems that the update has raised the value of links vs. topic relevancy and on-page SEO. So, provided that my analysis of the update is correct, I will have the most ROI if I start actively building links.
This is something I've been learning as well. Mass-publishing content targeting low volume keywords does work, but links are still necessary to move up the rankings- even for keywords with 0 searches per. month.
I've optimized my pages for backlinks, dialed down down publishing, hired an outreach VA and started doing more outreach myself.
It's all a numbers game after all, so it's good you've taken steps to upgrade your outreach efforts.
I'm also considering stopping my work on single product reviews. All my single product reviews have been ejected into page 3.