negative SEO question - tell me why my idea is stupid

Degree
I'm a big newbie when it comes to SEO so this I figure would be a great place to ask this question.

My understanding is that over the last few years Google has rolled out a number algo changes that can penalize sites for having "bad" incoming links. Effectively giving a negative SEO weapon that could be used on competition.

Sites like complaintsboard.com that are based in some country to protect themselves from US laws are very frustrating to product owners. Really the only solution to people posting fake reviews claiming a service is fraud/scam because they are a moron have been to rank a bunch of other things above them for the brand name being defmaed. complaintsboard.com gets to just keep making ad dollars for really just being a place for morons to defame other peoples livelihood with no potential consequences.

How much money/resources would it take to "negative SEO" a site as big as complaintsboard.com into oblivion? I picture a union of product owners that all chip together money and resources to smash these sites out of the SERPs.

Please tell me why my idea is stupid and wouldn't work.

Complaintsboard and other websites are shitty business models for sure. Most of those sites actually recently got hit by Google, so a lot of their pages should have dropped off of the first page.

Complaintsboard is too large and well insulated to have any real effect. According to AHrefs, they have 160k backlinks on 8.9k referring domains. In my experience, penalties that come from poor backlinks (not talking penguin here, those are larger algo rollouts), are all about ratios. Google examines the overall link profile to determine whether or not links have been unnaturally built. The number of links you'd have to create to make a negative dent is definitely out of reach. In the end, the links you build would more than likely backfire and help their page rank more highly.