Joomla, WordPress, SSG

mikey3times

BuSo Pro
Degree
First, I hope we can keep this discussion from devolving into "why would anyone anyone use _____, it sucks." Second, I've gone back through a bunch of 2017-2019 posts about Joomla and WordPress and I know both of them break on major updates so I'm not about to jump in with version X.0 of anything. Third, I've thought about the non-revenue-generating activity discussion so we can skip that because this is more of a rip the band-aid off now vs. I don't need a band-aid discussion. OK, caveats checked.

I started my forever project back in 2009 on Joomla. I made the best decision at the time based on zero knowledge. I honestly haven't regretted it. I've built other sites on WordPress and I'm fine with it as well. I'm no developer, but I'm solid with HTML and CSS, plus I can hack my way through PHP. I do pretty well getting things set up with Google searches and YouTube tutorials. I enjoy doing it myself for the most part, but I also have some aspirations to add features that will take me above my knowledge level, but I'm also nervous about hiring developers since I can't really check their work.

Joomla is getting close to releasing 4.0. Looks like the Release Candidate will come out in the next few weeks. Of course, all of their developers are volunteers so 4.0 is more than a year late at this point. When they finally get to the stable release, I will have to start looking at updating my site and potentially reworking my template (theme).

Get to the question already...

Since I have to do work to get my site Joomla 4.0 ready anyway, I've been thinking about whether I should bite the bullet now to switch over to WordPress (or, less likely, a SSG). I've considered this in the past, but it was always a procrastination method. With this change coming, I'm rethinking it again.

Considerations:
  • Moving 250 articles is going to take a lot of time, but it will take more time later when I have more articles.