Is WordPress.org still the GOAT?

Degree
Hey everyone, I'm fairly new to this world so apologies if these are silly questions.

I am reading through the Crash Course and noticed that on Day 4, the recommendation by @Ryuzaki is to use Wordpress.org, citing that Wordpress.com is a web 2.0 solution. A few questions on this:

- What are the advantages of using a self-hosted solution (wordpress.org) vs a web 2.0 solution (wordpress.com)? The post mentions "no limitations" but curious what this means in practice when building the website in the future and what hurdles .com could present
- In 2022 does this still remain the preferred solution by builders?

For context, I work in SaaS world so I am familiar with Wordpress.com vaguely, but not so familiar with Wordpress.org. I have also heard of newer web2 solutions like Webflow, Carrd, Wix, etc. I imagine these all have the same disadvantages as Wordpress.com but curious if someone could expand on why exactly these web2 solutions aren't recommended.

Thanks!

wordpress.com = renting an overpriced shitty apartment where you could be evicted for any reason

wordpress.org = building a home on pristine land you own 100% of the rights to

You can never sell a web 2.0. You're building nothing.

Using self-hosted WP, you're building an asset you own. Absolute.

If you work in Saas, I assume you should understand what open source is.

@brandonsnode, This is a good question. I think it really depends on what your goals are and what the "web 2.0" service is offering you.

Take Shopify for example. If you want to run a small eCommerce store and not worry about payment processing and all that, then Shopify makes a lot of sense. I'd use it. You'll own your domain at least and can recreate the URLs elsewhere if for some reason you feel the need to bail on Shopify.