Is this real life? IMarketing strategies

TacoCat

Bueno...
BuSo Pro
Degree
Some time ago I participated in a start - up competition called start - up weekend. I pitched a solid idea, a software small and mid - level businesses that would make their life way easier (not related to IM). In just 72 hours (the length of the contest) we created the first version - I called it Alpha Beta Version (Since it wasn't a mock - up anymore, but I couldn't call it a Beta version).

After the competition was done, me and the programmer decided to continue expanding on the idea. I covered the marketing and sales side, he was building the software. After few weeks I already had a few clients that were ready to purchase the Beta version, but my programmer disappeared. When finaly I got in touch with him he told me that he doesn't want to work on this Idea. Since I'm not a technical guy, I couldn't continue the job, and as a student I couldn't afford a programmer. The Idea was put on hold.

Today something interesting happened.

Everything started as usual, went to my 9 - 5, somewhere around lunchtime I received a phone-call from an old colleague. We had a little chit - chat when he revealed the reason for the call.

Their company wants to invest in the software that I was working on, they will cover all the programming expenses and maybe even they will use some of their staff to sell the product. *we will have a negotiation soon*.

Some time ago, I spoke with some big american company owners, they were basically mentoring startups, here in Eastern Europe. We spoke about my idea and the potential of it in the USA market. They said it was big, because there is noone that offers such kind of software for small and mid - sized companies, but they still need it.