How Should I Choose a Domain & Brand Name for my Website?

Degree
Hello,

This will be my first website so I guess I'll make a lot of mistakes but I also want to follow best guidelines.
From what I read on the forum, if I find a keyword around dogs to rank for. Let's say dog collars.
Should I name my website very general like pets or animals in case I want to expand to other animals if successful? I would start with a structure like pet/dog/dog-collars etc. I will be solely focused on the dog collar silo first.
Or should I just create a website named dogcollar.com for my first website to make it very niche?
Just wondering as a total newbie if I should aim for the broad website directly and if it is more difficult to rank for.

I would probably NOT think so much on a specific name for 1 item.

Think more about the future. What if you wish to expand?

Google also has had a notorious past for devaluing sites that focus on niche vs those that actually have a brand.

Ie: "DoggingThroughLife.com" vs "DogCollars"

You can put a section on DTL for 'collars' where as if you go off topic on dogcollrs, kinda a doomed start ... As the google "BERT" algorithm might struggle to put the words together

This is all theoretical but my longest lasting site = an acroynm . None of the niche spefici domain sites i owned (i sold them long ago) maintained search relevance/force as well

Think Natural with the domain..... specify with the content.

Thanks for your answer, this is helpful.
You can put a section on DTL for 'collars' where as if you go off topic on dogcollrs, kinda a doomed start
Could you please explain me what you meant? What does DTL stand for?

From my understanding, the take away from your answer is that I should create a brand congruent with the very broad niche (in this case pet or animals, perhaps down to dogs).

Thanks for your answer, this is helpful.

Could you please explain me what you meant? What does DTL stand for?