How long till I see Good Organic traffic - No Backlinks built?

Degree
Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to this ''Build your content site'' game and I've been hustling on an 'entertainment' content site for the past 4 months ish. It's a list site (top 10-40) about mostly anything. What I mean by that is I have some article about celebs, some mysteries, funny pictures, cool animals, etc. Trying to build something like TheRichest.

I read about on-page SEO and I'm doing as much as I can in this regard. However, I haven't done any backlink building, never reached to any blogger to get a link or anything. Just doing KW research the best I can, get some unique articles written and then post on the site.

Here's what organic traff looks like after 4 months :

image.png

Top was 17 organics in a day, now it's around 3-5 visits a day. There doesn't seem to be a trend, except a short spike for 2 weeks (I tried some daily news during these weeks, but it wasn't working out well on my site so I cut them off).

Here's the SEM Rush screenshot of my site :

image.png

As you can see, the growth is good and it seems I now have 469 keywords in the SERP's

4-10 : 1
11-20 : 21
21-50 : 198
51-100 : 249

Even though the # rises, the traffic doesn't.

My question is : Is it possible to get good search traffic ONLY using on-page seo optimization (Not building backlinks as I have no idea how) or am I totally wasting my time just publishing new articles?

Any help and tips is appreciated, thank you so much!

John

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to this ''Build your content site'' game and I've been hustling on an 'entertainment' content site for the past 4 months ish. It's a list site (top 10-40) about mostly anything. What I mean by that is I have some article about celebs, some mysteries, funny pictures, cool animals, etc. Trying to build something like TheRichest.