How do I scale faster?

Degree
I've been pushing on for the last 12 months really and managed to write about 200 articles myself.

Didn't pan out very good, but still I'm now sitting at a monthly income of ~600€ as of last month.

I have about 5k saved up from the year that's gone, all income from my sites.

Now the problem is just how do I scale faster? I'm very tired of writing myself so I got a writer now that writes ~25k words/month for €1k. Very good price for such a great writer.

How do I scale faster though? Should I spend as much money as possible now and be frugal later on, or should I keep a steady pace all along?

First off, consistently pumping out around 16 articles a month, solo, is a huge effort. Great job on that! Getting the ball rolling on a first project is one of the hardest parts, so take a minute to congratulate yourself. Also, if this is all on a new site, you likely still have plenty of growth coming your way.

On scaling - if you believe in your method then absolutely spend as much money as possible. Two examples to give here:
  1. Leverage. When you write an article yourself, you're putting out 1 unit of effort to create one post. With a good writing team, you can turn 1 unit of effort + money into 10, 100, or even 1,000 posts. Think of it like pushing down on a lever. With the right system, that lever can move mountains.
  2. Empire Growth. If you've ever played a game like Age of Empires, it's very similar to content sites. You want to expand as fast as possible, and so you should aim to spend any available resources as soon as they come in. There's no point in preserving capital when you could be expanding your empire. This is only untrue when you start wanting/needing to take profits for yourself.