How did you learn to code?

vinnypolston

Boot Camp
Degree
Hey guys! So yeah. Any programmers hanging out here in BuSo? Tired of having to hire others to do it for me; sucking it up and going for it. I have basic HTML/CSS knowledge that REALLY needs refreshing. I checked out codeacademy and codeschool. Trying codeacademy first since it is free. Pretty good stuff so far!

Thoughts? go!

I used Codecademy for a little bit, but to be honest, I didn't like it that much... It just didn't "feel right" for me. Important to note: I only used Codecademy for like one day. It may have changed alot since I used it. I then started Team TreeHouse, which is really great :smile: I did the free trial first and I really liked it. I signed up for the Gold Membership which is about 50 bucks a month. I learned alot, and I'm now very comfortable with HTML and CSS. What I love about their method is that you learn by doing. You don't just get random exercises to complete... You learn html and CSS by actually building a real website from scratch. You also earn points and badges and stuff which make it really fun for me :D (Also, the videos are brilliant and the website is pretty :wink: lol)

I stopped coding for a while, but it's one of my goals to get right back on track with my coding. I'm going to continue to use Team Treehouse because it worked for me. I'm going to downgrade to the Silver Membership though. It's only 25 dollars a month and to be honest I didn't utilise all the "bells and whistles" of the Gold Membership. So I think the Silver will be just fine for me at this point. :smile: I definitely recommend you check it out.

I learned all of my coding just from tinkering around with websites over the past tons of years. I'm not amazing at any of them, but I can get everything done that I need to get done. I guess I'm more into the front-end dev work than backend procedural coding, which I know is 100x more complex.