Google Algorithm Updates - 2021 Ongoing Discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.
No changes in traffic here.

Saw a -25%-30% decrease in traffic in google analytics today and last night, all my site is quality, cant tell which keywords are dropped even though im using ahrefsz ahrefs says 39 positions increased and 19 positions decreased. Im a noob at tracking the rankings of keywords

Wait a few days for Search Console data to update, then use the compare feature. Compare the day your traffic dropped with the previous day and you will be able to see what pages/queries got hit.

My main site seems fine for now. All my other smaller site (say half a doz) feel down maybe 30% - definitely affected in some way. Early days, let's see.
Two sites have more or less recovered back to normal levels, but two others still down majorly. SE visibility seems the same for them, strange. Still waiting.

Just checked my sites on average im down about 15% across the board. One site I bought a few months back is down 40% leading the losses. One experimental site I had been trying to build with zero linkbuilding is the only one in my portfolio up significantly its up 45%. still a long way for this rollout to go, I remember last update most my losses recovered within a week.

I feel like for smaller sites the first few days they see large drops while google starts reindexing larger sites pop up first then slowly the smaller ones begin to make their way back up as they get crawled because their deeper.

dropped from #11 to #43

Big drops like that usually never stick.

It's either they changed the intent completely or they just get some kind of flag for your url for whatever reason and it might bounce in and out for a while.

Huge spike in impressions and rankings on day one, now falling to pre-update levels.

Update: 12/1/21
December 2021 Product Reviews Update

Source:
https://developers.google.com/search/blog/2021/12/product-reviews-update-and-your-site

The Important Part: