Going into too big of a Vertical?

Degree
Edit: should have made my title "Going into too competitive of a vertical"

For the first time in years I finally have some extended amount of free time and I really want to launch a project.

A little background: my day job is a software engineer. I love writing code. Truthfully it's one of the few things I'd say I'm very good at in life, maybe the only thing.. my alpine skiing is solid haha.

I've never really had an interest In writing. I've always wanted to launch a project where I could write a lot of code, build tools, maybe visual actions, fancy sites, etc.

Anyways, for the past few years I've toyed with the idea of starting my own sports statistics site...say for Football. Allow users to view statistics of players, schedules, teams, wins and losses, custom implementations of data, fancy data features etc. So much data is collected!

Part of why this attracts me is because 1. I follow a lot of sports, 2. I can focus more on tools (lineup builders, trade wizards, etc) and data visualization (salary cap projections, etc). 3. Sports seem like a fairly big vertical, not finance level big but if similarweb is accurate, it feels like there's plenty of room at the table for everyone to eat.

However: part of why I hesitate, I'd the competition. There are a lot of sites. Some from billion dollar companies: Yahoo, CbS, ESPN, pro football ref, pff, and other highly established sites who offer similar services. I've come down a little bit on this in thinking I'm taking on gollaith on some of these sites, some of these large companies probably have less people working on it than you think because they're focused on there opportunjtes..but I'm digressing.