Fat, old, and ugly - meet your best customers

emp

BuSo Pro
Degree
Back when I studied psychology, one of our professors made the following statement:

Everyone wants clients I call YASIF - Young, Articulate, Sexy, Intelligent, and Fun.
The reality is, as a clinical psychologist, your clients are not going to be like that. Most likely, they are old, not young. They are not articulate, because a stroke just hit their speech centers. They are not sexy, half the face is sagging. They might not be smart, and most likely won't be fun to be around.​

While this put me off working in the clinical field, it gave me something to think about.

The same thing is true in online marketing (or any business)

We all want the young, attractive, sexy, smart, and rich crowd. We want to be part of it, and we'd like them to be our customers. The latter to be part of the crowd by extension if not virtue.

There are some things standing in your way.

First, a lot of big players surround that iPhone wielding population. Welcome to the jungle.
Second, you are barking up the wrong tree.

I am going to outline a short model on how to tap the real market.

Let's take a first look.

Age demographics
fact_sheet-graph-population.gif

A lot of countries in the world have an aging demographic. While not a lot of countries hit Japan levels of aging, the trend continues. The population is getting older.

So forget about 20 somethings, hit the 50+ crowd.

Fat
babyCAMERA_468x378.jpg

Obesity epidemic. Believe it or not, problems caused by too much food are a bigger issue than hunger in our world.
Let that sink in.

Then look at how insanely fat some people have become.

Ugly
Age doesn't protect from ugliness.
Neither does youth, to be honest. If you are going to market any beauty/fashion related stuff - you're not gonna sell only to the sexy crowd.

Poor
People are not rich for the most part.

What to do?

With any issue, there is two ways people go about it.
  1. Fight it
  2. Accept it
Fight it