Diversifying Away From Amazon

Degree
Amazon has become one of my main sources of income and that scares me. If they banned me or started screwing around as they are wont to do, my stream dries up. The barrier of entry is also pretty low so any old competitor can start throwing up Amazon links and steal my cookies.

I have two sites - a big authority site that i have been running since 2009, and a food and beverage site that I have been running since 2011. The Food/Bev sells related products from Amazon and I have consistently generated 5 figures in sales per month. (Which, if you are an associate, means you make 6 - 8% of that). I want to sell the Food/Bev site, and my hypothesis is that 1) I can command a higher price for the site with a legit fulfillment system behind my product sales and 2) while I build the asset for sale, I can make more by fulfilling the products with third party platforms.

So here is what I am doing:
I am building a Shopify store ($29 per month + 2.9% + .30) and using Oberlo to fulfill products from Aliexpress. Anyone had any experience here? What are some drawbacks to this approach based on your experience?

How is Oberlo + Aliexpress working for you?

How is Oberlo + Aliexpress working for you?
Hadnt started yet. I wanted some feedback from the rest of the community before I invested the time. Have you built any eCommerce fulfillment systems yourself?

Hadnt started yet. I wanted some feedback from the rest of the community before I invested the time. Have you built any eCommerce fulfillment systems yourself?
No, but I am also looking into diversifying - not AWAY from Amazon, but in addition to. Looking into FBA, Aliexpress, Clickbank, etc. Goal is to match monthly Amazon revenues to 2x site valuation but also create a more robust site.