Complete newbie

Hello, I joined the forum to better understand how to market my business.
I'm very focused on providing a valuable service/product to the customer and useful tools.
I'm slightly put off by tricks and misdirection and manipulation tactics, because I'm a softie, but I guess you need to be optimised and go in for the kill to be successful.

Ryuzaki

お前はもう死んでいる
Hi, @kinsella7, thanks for joining us.

I'm slightly put off by tricks and misdirection and manipulation tactics, because I'm a softie, but I guess you need to be optimised and go in for the kill to be successful.
Same here. If you haven't seen our free Digital Strategy Crash Course, we heavily focus on the fundamentals there with a bend towards helping newbies understand HOW to think and not WHAT to think.

Tricks and all that only last so long before people share the tactics around and the loopholes get closed because the companies (Google, Facebook, etc.) get embarrassed by the manipulation and make it a priority to stop.

That's not really a business, it's just a hustle that you end up losing. You can make a lot of money doing that if you can keep finding the next loophole but I've never seen anyone be able to do that. It gets harder and harder as time goes on and the platforms you're manipulating mature. There's still SEO tricks, and new ones being developed out there. I know of a guy doing $1k an hour on what appears to be a pretty sustainable SEO trick for the time being.

The problem is, the tricks are to the point where they require as much, if not more, effort than running a regular sustainable business that'll carry you forever.

Thank you for replying. I've been on a Fake Guru expose kick on YouTube, and I'm guessing there are tons of them that sell a dark side version of your course for ONLY 1,997 - free knowledge you can find online, but with ridiculous claims of guaranteed success, no work, no investment in your business to start etc.