BUSOBOSS - Good riddance WP & Gutenberg, Long live Hugo!

DD1

Degree
Hi Builders,

I finally took the courage to leave WP behind and migrate to Hugo.

Since there isn't much material about that online, at least from a beginner's point of view, and this forum has given me so much knowledge and motivation, I decided I wanted to give back something to the community. I believe this is unique enough to help others who might be in the same situation.

I am not a programmer. I know my way around HTML and CSS because I have bought three magazines in a newsstand, before the Y2K, and I copied code from others, back when Geocities and having your own private email address as a teen were a big thing.

Nevertheless, I made the jump.

Going around the inconveniences of WP was bearable because WP used to be practical: what you see used to be what you get! Gutenberg made it a terrible experience for my 3G internet connection and my old, basic laptop. Hugo allowed me to have a static site without having to (properly) having to learn CSS, which is huge for me. In short, more control, less bloat.

Plus, there's the added security. No more hackers trying to implement malicious code in my WP install; no more time wasted fighting comment spam.

The end result at the moment looks very, very similar to my previous site, which used the BuSo Lightning. Oddly enough, I find the end result more satisfying than my previous WP site. Naturally, under Hugo I still have to deal with the frustration of not finding whatever it is I need, I don't know the proper tech terms/slang/lingo to search them, there are considerably less resources to helping people with issues - not to mention non-programmers like me.