Band Promotion & Marketing

jstover77

King of Turd Mountain
Degree
*Posted this on another forum with no response, so I'll try here. Higher end marketers here anyways.

I've made a lot of really good friends through this forum, but a lot of people don't know that at one time I was a full time musician. Have toured the states, been signed, did many many sessions for money...etc.. Fast forward to 2018, I haven't really done anything since college (almost 20 years ago), besides a few cover bands and sessions to keep the chops alive.

Long story short, I recently started getting the bug to play again. I decided to contact a bunch of guys who I've known for years and are very good musicians (my idea of the All Star crew). We've been putting together some tracks. Here are two rough tracks we recently recorded:

https://soundcloud.com/john-stover-689077145/drink-to-drown-rough-trac

https://soundcloud.com/john-stover-689077145/say-something-rough-track

Both are very rough, and only played a few times, so take it easy I play drums by the way.

Anyhow, I've never really promoted bands online (back when I was coming up it was straight guerilla marketing). If anyone has some tips or experience, let me know. We are planning to hit the studio in a few months.

There are a couple of clips out in the wild if I remember correctly like this one where Gary talks to rappers about promoting themselves. Seems like from the ones I remember (the one linked is just a random one I found in a search) he recommends a lot of 1-1 interaction/hustle via social etc.

ps I did listen, I know you're not rappers :wink:

YouTube and Facebook. To me, those are still the best 1-2 punch for music. You can promote yoru music, if good, via a solid FB social media campaign. Get people to engage and you're a hit.

or Tekashi69 it.......

Talk sh-t about all your favorites so bad they have to respond.