Anyone here work as an SEO / Digital Marketer role in the corporate world?

Degree
I work in the tech industry, but on the sales side of the company I work for.

Wondering what it would be like to make a switch in a professional capacity to take on SEO / digital strategy?

This would obviously vary from what type of industry, company, size, etc you work in but would love to get your thoughts overall if any of you work SEO / digital in the corporate world on what you like / don’t.

It can be a high pressure role, targets are usually set to be hit, strategies are expected to be executed and you have a major role on the growth of a company moving forward in terms of number of leads and sales.

But it can be rewarding in the the right circumstances. The feeling of having a contributing factory to a 7 figure growth from lead generation and sales is a real buzz. It made getting up in the morning so much easier.

But the major thing as you mention is to think about is the company you work for. At times from my past experiences you find that many in the corporate don't fully understand the potential of digital marketing and after initial boosts they can start to not look for growth in those aspects therefore limiting resources etc.

This is when the position can become stale when growth is not really sort after from the company due to a number of different circumstances. You stop honing your skills and that's never good for a career. Hard to judge I suppose from the beginning but I know that was the thing that killed my joy and made me realise it was time for a change.

I really liked working in a medium sized digital agency (20-30 people). It was a good mix of personality types with Adwords, SEO, webdesign, sales. It had some of the advertising banter and coolness, but more down to earth.