Anyone have experience setting up an affiliate program?

vinnypolston

Boot Camp
Degree
Hey guys!

Sales have been steady on my plugin that I developed. At this point all of the sales have been from sales threads on WF & BHU. It's great. But I'd love to sell more!

What I would really like to accomplish is setting up an affiliate program. Have others market it and we all make some money.

Right now I'm looking at e-junkie; having Paypal handle the payments. Just looking to see if any of you have experience in this? Positives / negatives / suggestions / concerns.

Thanks in advance for the help! Let's make this discussion something that everyone can learn from!

I have some experience from when I was setting this up at 2 prior start-ups I was a part of. I am also looking to set one of these up on a current project, although it wont be with a network this time.

The biggest thing you need to worry about is fraud. This can be labeled in many ways and ranges.

Some of the biggest ones:

• Bidding on your brand name. You built the brand, why should others piggyback and steal that?
  • Members signing up only to purchase for themselves ( to get a discount ).
  • Signups that chargeback or request a refund right before or slightly after affiliate payouts
  • Stolen credit cards ( it happens, even on a digital good )
  • Paypal freezing your account for too many refunds/chargebacks or too much volume in X time
  • People figuring out your DL URL or page to get the product for free. Sharing it once bought.

I used e-junkie for some smaller things. For serious business, consider investing in PAP.

BTW I still have a license of PAP which i don't use, could sell it for a half price, but need to check how much the license renewal costs.