1 thing EVERY newbie needs to do RIGHT NOW...

It would be great if we could some recommendations on which software programs people are using or ones to try out. I know I will need to start looking into accounting software next year and not sure what to go with other than quickbooks.

I am new here but I have had extensive experience with LLC's and accounting practices. LLC's are easy to use compared to S & C corps give you good protection and are pretty straight forward to maintain with the Gov't. At my height I was doing $1,000,000 per month in revenues through a group of LLC brick and motor businesses so they can also handle most of your growth needs. We were able to use Quickbooks for Business for all of our mandatory recording needs and only used Accountants to do year end Tax returns and Tax planning. Very cost effective. If you go that route you should find an accountant or firm that accepts Quickbooks information which makes things much easier.

My recommendation: get offshore as soon as you can.

The longer you wait, the more complicated it gets and the more you get on the tax mans radar. I would say that by the time you hit $50k/yr you should be off. Also, get the hell out of your home country if you can. It all becomes easier.

Great thread. I would argue that the actual task of bookkeeping is rather easy (but needs consistency), where the added value of the accountant / professional bookkeeper lies is in the understanding of regulation which at least in my country often changes and you need to be on top of things to know all about deductions, tax exempts, etc. In terms of "tax optimizing " by incorporating overseas you definitely should know what you're doing because governments are (will be) extra curious about the money not going in their pockets. And you should have a significant and steady stream of income wort the hassle, extra costs and risks.