Newbie...restarting the Digital Strategy Crash Course

Degree
Hey there, newbie here. Well newbie to BS, been building websites since 1999. My wife and I run a set of fitness and supplement businesses and have been doing pretty well since 2002. Recent changes to SEO and competitive strategies, it's become evident that complacency could really affect our bottom line.
Is the DSCC the right place to start over if you will? I've gotten into SEMRUSH and other tools and feel completely overwhelmed.
We're getting good traffic still, but there are newcomers to the arena that are clearly using "alternative methods" to eek us out of some search results.
Since the DSCC was created in '15, is the info there relevent? Is it updated?
Thanks in advance. Hopefully I'll get out of the New Member jail here soon... :wink:

Welcome, the DSCC is old, but mostly evergreen, definitely worth reading, just you probably can't apply methods one to one, but have to adapt to new tech etc.

A lot of things regarding SEO are in the fluxx now, people scrambling and no clear answers as how to proceed.

If you ask me and my 10+ years of SEO experience, I'd go for authenticity and user engagement, don't go for the same things as other people do. Don't outsource the content, don't buy cheap links.

Instead do use Ahrefs or Semrush to find good keywords, that's half the game, but then make sure that every piece of content you make has you and your wife front and center. Write theory and facts yes, but always include your own experience and personality. This is the way.

Create a facebook group, call it something non-brand related, and give away tons of good advice. Go hard on social media. Turn your SEO posts into videos and instagram reels. Or do the reverse, have your videos turned into articles. There are now AI tools that can do cheap audio transcription.