Database Site vs Affiliate Review Site - How Can the Affiliate Win?

Degree
How can I beat a database+ugc site with an affiliate review site? :confused:

I'm planning to start an aff review site in a hobby niche where I'm an expert. There are a few terrible review sites in this niche. But the big competition is a site that's db+ugc - eg book review site vs Goodreads. I think Google does like this review site and doesn't handicap it in rankings.

Any advice? I'll be doing info content, detailed reviews, unique images, high quality content, appropriate backlinks, silos, etc - is there anything I can do beyond the usual to get an edge in the long run?

Are there other sites after page 10 without a DB or UGC that'd serve the query? If so, big G might be ranking that site since it has great on-page metrics/ user interaction. Or, maybe that's the intent -- maybe people want to see anecdotal reviews rather than boilerplate author reviews.

This isn't to say you should do the same since going against the grain can work out in some cases but you may want to consider those 2 points and either go against the grain entirely, or one up them in every way in addition to providing more helpful reviews i.e. visualization of DB, exporting DB, better sorting of the DB, or better UGC features/copywriting to have people engage.

Database sites are usually what I consider medium-easy indicators for a keyword, so I wouldn't be too worried.

Instead you should look at which keywords they're ranking for and take that as a good sign. I don't know your niche, so there could be specifics I don't know about.

thanks - for the main kws I was thinking of the db+ugc site wins consistently, hardly any aff sites out there - eg think Goodreads consistently coming to the top of the serps